You are eligible for unemployment Massachusetts Unemployment insurance benefits if you meet these requirements:
- You lost your job through no fault of your own. This could happen if:
- you were laid off because of lack of work
- your hours were cut back because of lack of work
- you were fired without good cause
- you quit your job with good cause, for example, unhealthy or dangerous working conditions
- you had to leave your job because of domestic violence
- you were forced to quit your job because of a very important personal reason
- You are physically and mentally able to work.
- You are looking for a job and willing to accept work right away.
- You have not been able to find another job in your field of work (or something similar).
- You earned at least 30 times the UI benefit amount you would collect weekly, and at least $3500, during a recent one-year period called your “base period.”Note: Your “primary base period” includes the last four completed calendar quarters just before you filed your unemployment insurance claim. There are four calendar quarters in a year: January through March, April through June, July through September, and October through December. In some cases, DUA will allow you to use another base period to qualify.
- You worked in Massachusetts (or your employer’s base of operations was within Massachusetts).Note: If you worked in another state, you should apply for unemployment insurance in that state.
- You did not file a different claim for UI benefits in Massachusetts within the past year.Note: You may file a new claim for UI benefits only once during a benefit year. read more
Massachusetts Department of Unemployment Assistance administers the Unemployment Insurance program which provides temporary income assistance to Massachusetts workers who are unemployed through no fault of their own and who are able to work.Massachusetts Unemployment Benefit Maximum: Claimants can receive a weekly benefit of approximately 50 percent of their average weekly wage, up to the maximum set by Massachusetts law. The current maximum benefit rate is $674 a week. The maximum number of weeks a claimant can collect full benefits is 30 weeks. Under Massachusetts law, regular benefits are capped at 26 weeks (instead of the maximum of 30 weeks) whenever there is a program of extended benefits. However, many individuals qualify for less than the maximum weeks of coverage. The maximum benefit credit amount is $20,370, which equals $679 a week for 30 weeks.